Essay on Navratri Festival

Navratri festival which means nine nights is a festival which extends for nine days and is celebrated twice a year.

This festival is celebrated for changing the weather. It is believed that if a person celebrates Navratri with dedication, then he gets the energy from the Goddess for another six months of the year.

Apart from changes in the season and weather in the world, there is a huge transformation in the subtle world too at this time. This is because the worship or sadhna which is performed during this time has got a special significance. It is believed that this prayer removes all impurities from the soul of a person and prepares the base for the believer to get ready for divine blessings.

Why is Navratri celebrated for nine days?

Navratri is celebrated for nine days as it provides the believer with a spiritual occasion and chance to awaken his nine power points that are present in different areas of the body and are dormant because of misuse or non-use. This leads to a lot of energy and a kind of power bank in the heart and mind of the practitioner. This festival is associated with colors too. The practitioner understands the importance of colors and connects with the relevant deity so that he can get more energy and benefits.

Meaning of 9 days of Navratri:

First day: This is also called as Pratipada and is associated with the diety Shailputri. The color associated with this day is yellow, and it symbolizes joy and happiness.

Second day: This day is also known as dutiya and is known for Brahmacharni. The green color is associated with this day of constant strive for spiritual knowledge. On this day Goddess Parvati did tapas to get Lord Shiva as her husband.

Third day: This day is dedicated to the Goddess Chandraghanta. She carries a half moon on her forehead. Grey is the color associated with this day which means a readiness to defeat our enemies such as jealousy, anger, ill will, ego, and unbridled desires.

Fourth day: This is dedicated to Goddess Kushmanda. Color for the day is orange which represents the sun, energy, brightness, and happiness.

Fifth day: Goddess Skandamata is the representative of the fifth day of Navratri. This day is known for her selfless love like a mother. White is the color of this day, and it signifies prayer and purity.

Sixth day: this day is of Devi Katyani whose color is red. It represents the anger of the Goddess against the enemies of Gods. The seeker learns to fight against the ill practices of the society.

Seventh-day: This day is associated with Devi Kalratri whose color is dark blue. She is also known as Ma Kaali who fights against social evils and overcomes them.

Eighth day: Goddess Mahagauri represents this day, and her color is pink. She is known to fulfill the wishes of her disciples for the betterment of the society. The color of the day represents freshness of perspective and hope.

Ninth day: This day is dedicated to Devi Siddharaatri who bestows knowledge and fulfills wishes of the believers. Her color is violet which symbolizes power and aspiration.


Each day of Navratri has some lessons for the believers. It is important that we learn these lessons and practice them in our lives and societies throughout the year.

You might also like

Comments are closed.